If you are arrested for a New York drunk driving charge, or for refusing a chemical test, in addition to any criminal penalties you will be assessed, you will also have to pay what is known as the “Driver Responsibility Assessment.” Beginning in November of 2004, The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles instituted the “Driver Responsibility Program.”
Under this program, if you are convicted of a New York DWI or refusing to take a breathalyzer test, you will be required to pay fines totaling $750 over a three year period. These fines can be paid $250 each year for three years, all at once, or you may pay the initial fine of $250.00 and then the remainder at any time within the three years. If you do not pay the assessment, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license, learner’s permit, or in the case of out of state drivers, your privileges to operate a vehicle in New York State.
The Driver Responsibility Assessment is also imposed on drivers who get 6 points or more on their license within an 18 month period for New York traffic violations. This assessment is a total of $300.00 for three years, which can be paid in $100.00 per year increments, all at once, or by paying $100.00 initially and then the remainder within the 2 following years. Each additional point above 6 points during the 18 months adds an extra $75.00 to the penalty.
When you or a family member or loved one have been charged with a New York DWI or New York traffic violation, contact The Law Office Of Mark A. Siesel online or toll free at (914) 428-7386 for a free consultation to discuss your legal rights and options with an experienced, knowledgeable attorney.